A low point for dignity

Probably my posts are going to be about living with one kidney for a while.  I know you might get bored about hearing about it, but the fact is, I have NOTHING else going on in my life.  I am on bed rest, and my day goes like this:

Wake up. Play Online Scrabble. Take pain med that makes it so I never ever poop. Take a nap. Wake up again, watch some netflix (Stargate SG1 is the current flavor), pray that today is the day I get to poop, take another nap,  maybe eat something, probably just watch more Netflix and then nap some more.

It’s a stimulating existence to be sure.

But, much more importantly: the surgery went well.  I am recovering nicely, and Lefty is pumping away perfectly in my brother.  Basically we couldn’t have asked for better. Unless we asked that we both get TWO kidneys and no surgery necessary, but that ship sailed.

Funny thing that happens after Kidney surgery.  Suddenly bowel and bladder movements become very very interesting.  I’ve never been so happy as I was when I learned my brother was peeing after the surgery. It was a HUGE FUCKING deal.  My pee too was a big deal.  All the while I was in the hospital, they collected it. Measured it.

The first thing anyone said to me after I woke from the anesthesia was that I peed water, and he’d be happy to have me on ANY desert Island. (true story).

And I may have mentioned how I can’t poop. I may have been all casual about it.  But it’s not casual.  It is the thing I think about the most in my day.  Why oh why can’t I poop.  Just once.

Basically. It’s not very big on dignity, donating a kidney.

About inkrose86

Look to your left. You see that girl there, the mildly attractive one that is doing something vaguely embarrassing like spilling coffee on herself or picking a pimple. Ya, that's me.
This entry was posted in Kidney Donation. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A low point for dignity

  1. Angelina says:

    I don’t know if this will make you feel better but I constantly think about poop. Not because I like it or anything, but because it is a constant problem in my life. My stomach is not one to be reckoned with. But what matters here is that you are okay, healthy, one kidney short but your heart is much bigger. We love you, the not being able to do nothing will pass, and soon, your stool will also pass. lol.

    love you!!!

  2. Erin says:

    you have a PS3 don’t you? play some video games

Leave a Reply

