Taking back the Horse

This is a Pony.  To be specific, it is a little one, one that may or may not be mine.  I don’t know much about the new My Little Pony show, but I imagine it’s like Power Puff Girls, but instead of flipper fisted girls smacking the living day lights out of a monkey, it is very colorful horse creatures.

I do know that there is a large group of men that have claimed this show as their own and proclaimed themselves “Bronies.” Traditionally, ponies and horses are the fodder for the attention of girls.  I know when I was young, I had horse toys galore (though mine were usually the upgraded unicorn variety). But apparently despite its girly subject matter, the show is awesome, so boys like it.

Here’s the thing.  The Bronie phenomenon is claiming something that is supposed to girly as their own.  They are saying, (I think.  There’s a chance I am putting words in their collective mouths, but just go with it) that this girly thing is cool enough that anyone can watch it.  Gender roles need not apply to this awesome fest.

And that is cool.  I am all for nixing gender roles, especially when it comes to children’s television.

But!

Consider this:

1)

Thier screams will boil your blood

Horses are terrifying. Ponies are slightly more compact, so they are maybe a little less terrifying, but not enough to make you feel safe. They will mess you up.

2)

Cowboys are bad ass.

Why?  Is it the rope?

No.

The hat?

Closer, but no.

The way they drink and whore around?

I mean, that is pretty cool.

But I hold that it is a side effect of what actually makes them bad ass: Their horse.

So basically, horses and ponies are bad ass.  They can be your only friend out on the range, or they can kick your head in. Your choice.

Therefore when the Bronies claim My Little Ponies as something awesome, they are being redundant. Of course it is a bad ass show; I can say that without ever having watched an episode.  It has freaking ponies in it.

About inkrose86

Look to your left. You see that girl there, the mildly attractive one that is doing something vaguely embarrassing like spilling coffee on herself or picking a pimple. Ya, that's me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

