I’m not going to mention how long it’s been since the last post after the title is over.

This season is the marrying season. 

Image

As I speak, I am sitting at the counter top that belongs to those that made the man.  In the background, John Steward is talking to me in real TV time, and I am on the other side of the country, experiencing humidity for the first time in my life.

I am doing this because the Man’s sister is getting married on Sunday. She is going to put a dress on and speak vows.  She will make a promise to stay with her “the Man” for all time.

It’s romantic, and important. And I am happy to be here for it.

My own little sister has similar plans in the works, a ring sparkling on her finger.

I am glad of that as well. (probably).

 

But more than any of that, I am glad to be breaking the cycle.  My days have begun to blend together.  I can predict the way events are going to play out the instant they began, because I have seen it before. I have seen it yesterday. i will see it tomorrow.  Frankly, it is exhausting.

For instance:

On my way to work every morning, I pass a place on the road where someone stands on the median and sells newspapers.  In the morning, a little old lady stands and the median and waves at every car that passes while holding the daily paper, asking for my change.

I love this lady.  I wave back to her. I smile as I pass, and for some reason, seeing her every morning brightens me day a little.

Every afternoon, on my way to lunch, I pass a man doing the same job.  He has a cast on his leg up to his hip. He gives a peace sign to every car that passes him.

I hate him.

I don’t know why I have decided one person is lovable and one is hate able.  But I have, solely based on one of them waving at me, and one of them giving me a peace sign. It could also be that one is a old lady, and the other is an injured man. Clearly, I prefer old ladies to injured men, it’s just how I roll.

Or it could be a highly irrational reaction to the fact that I pass these people every day at the same time in the same place.  My days have become so monotonous that I need to have opinions about things, just to add flavor.

Which is why, after having an amazing rehearsal dinner meal (there was quail drenched in chipotle sweet potatoe sauce), I am so glad to have some different flavors in my life.

So thank you sisters of the world, for getting married and stuff.

About inkrose86

Look to your left. You see that girl there, the mildly attractive one that is doing something vaguely embarrassing like spilling coffee on herself or picking a pimple. Ya, that's me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m not going to mention how long it’s been since the last post after the title is over.

  1. How did I miss this???? We miss you and “the Man” already. Cannot wait for our next encounter. Anne

Leave a Reply

