3 Weeks on a Bicycle

I am 27 years old, officially in my late 20s.  A handful of years ago, this seemed unthinkable. Early 20s was where it was at. The world was my oyster, all doors were open to me, and most importantly, my lifestyle of eating whatever I wanted and not exercising had very little effect on my waistline.

They were good days.

I have come to accept that those days are past.  Now my belly bears the consequences of my diet, my job where I sit for 8 hours a day, and my relationship that has me comfortable. And, I found that none of that motivated me to change any of that.  I am not entirely happy with the shape of my body, but I’m not unhappy enough to change anything about my lifestyle.

So I had to think about it differently.  I don’t need to change the way my body looks. Other than a few complaints (thick middle, weak knees, gray hair), my body does pretty good by me. It moves around, takes me where I need to go, allows me to enjoy the things I love. Hell, it even had a kidney I could donate to my brother.

So I decided to come at this from a place of gratitude and awe of my body.  I know my body can get me to work everyday. My legs can pump the pedals of a bike and combination of simple mechanics and the raw power of my own muscles, I can get myself around. That’s pretty amazing when you think about it. And the more often I do it, the better I get at it, my muscles get stronger, my endurance increases, and my heart gets some exercise as well. It’s kinda great.

I’ve been riding my bike to work for about 3 weeks. On my bike, I’ve noticed somethings:

1) Cars are really scary.  And because of this, everything a car does is more pronounced. So, if you are in your car and there is a bicyclist around, they are going to see every little mistake you make.  Every time you pull forward a little too far, every time you rush through a stop sign. We see it. We know.

2) Once, there was a dog hanging out in the bike lane.  I was heading directly at it.  I planned to stop, check it’s tags and maybe call its owner. But as a drew closer it lifted its head. That was no dog, that was a coyote. And I was still barreling toward it. I had no idea what to do. I did not want to check its tags for one thing. But, after a while, he decided I might, possibly, kinda be a threat. So he sauntered across the street, casually walking in front of several  oncoming cars.

3) Apparently, I talk to myself when I travel. In a car, this is pretty much no problem, no one is going to know. But I am in the open on a bike.  Yesterday, I caught myself going, “do dododooooo” as I went over a speed bump. A little like Kronk’s theme song, but with significantly less musical sense. And everyone around me could hear it.

I am really good at this stuff.

 

About inkrose86

Look to your left. You see that girl there, the mildly attractive one that is doing something vaguely embarrassing like spilling coffee on herself or picking a pimple. Ya, that's me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

